top of page

New Year, New Servings: Dri’s Deep (Creek) Dish

It's 2018 !

Waddup Blogsties!! (My internet besties If you didn’t get that lol) Happy New Year, and welcome back to Dri’s Deep Dish!!!

As you can see there has been, what I will like to call a full restaurant reno around these parts. I’ve changed the aesthetics of my blog quite a bit, but the message remains the same! I, WE, are journeying through self-love by way of faith. So why the slight change you ask? Well it’s simply because I want your culinary experience to remain fun and fresh! We don’t do stale over here... so what better time, than the first of year, to spice things up a bit ;)

With that being said, I am SUPERRRR pumped to be back, and I pray that your 31 days into the new year has been full of favor and flavor :)

As for me (so kind of you to ask), this year has been extremely busy. There is no doubt that I’ve had quite a bit on my plate, but all in all I’ve been eating well!

Quick question for you.

Do you remember me briefly mentioning a vision board in my last post of 2017? Well for the past couple of years I’ve literally lived by them. Fam, I’m telling you I could preach a full sermon on the fruit that comes from making a vision board!!! I’m going to keep my chill though, but don’t be too surprised if you see a post regarding this in the near future lol

Ok. ok. ok... so back to the point.

This year my vision is BIGGER than ever, and I have a plethora of things that I would like to accomplish. Along with a number of goals, God has given me my word for the year which is overflow. To me, this means that an abundant amount of unexpected, yet fulfilling meals are being prepared on my behalf. Now that I have this understanding, I am doing my part to make sure that I remain mentally ready for these servings from the Master Chef!

Are you? What's you word for the year, and how to do plan to apply that word? Is your table prepped for prosperity, are your servings indicating success?

Speaking of servings, as mentioned previously, I am SUPER excited to whip up some more delicious, juicy, and glory filled courses for your indulging pleasures. This blog is my passion project that I continue to hold near and dear to my heart. Through the help of Christ and writing, this blog has helped me to deal, heal, and keep it real. I've learned that transparency brings transformation so please note, jot down, subscribe, and remember that Dri’s Deep Dish ain’t going any where, but right here!

As a matter of fact, I have another dish coming fresh out the oven...it's all about my trip to Deep Creek!

The Meal

On the fifth of this month I had the pleasure of traveling to Deep Creek, Maryland to celebrate my 26th birthday. This year, I decided to something totally different, and invited my close girlfriends to stay over night with me in an authentic log cabin! Although it was cold, and I mean below zero cold, the experience could not have been any warmer. It was truly one of my favorite birthday celebrations yet!

Favorite Ingredients

1. Midnight Birthday Brunch. So of course one of my favorite moments had to involve food! At the turn of midnight my guests and I enjoyed a wonderful brunch filled with all of one's favorite breakfast delights to include love, laughter, and of course bottomless mimosas!

2. Girl Goal Circle. It was really important to me that this trip was not solely about me. So I decided to host a girl goal circle. At the brunch table, everyone went around and shared their top goals for 2018. This was a pretty cool moment glazed and dazzled with Black Girl Magic ! It was amazing to see all we had accomplished, and how we continue to strut our way into the new year with our heel and heads high !

3. Snow Tubing. Ya girl went snow tubing for the very first time, and it was loads of fun!! I wanted to do something a little less daunting than skiing (I'm getting there), and snow tubing was the perfect option. Despite it being bitterly cold, heading down a hill of rock solid ice was very exhilarating... and I'll definitely be doing it again !

4. Being in the presence of such amazing, God fearing women. Hands down, my favorite moment. I can't express how grateful I am for the friends and family that God has placed in my life. Just to know that my friends would drive a decent distance in cold and snowy weather just to spend the night with me, was absolutely beautiful. I left Deep Creek fuller than ever !

Order to Go?

Yes! If you haven’t been to Deep Creek, I would say to give it a go. It’s about a 3 hour drive from the DMV area, and is great for a friend, family, or couples trip ! There is a four seasons Wisp Skii Resort very close by which provides an abundant about of activities and fun for all to enjoy. Not to mention, this trip is pretty economical. Check out the pictures below to see how I spent my short stay :)

Chef Selections?

I hope you enjoyed this post !

Always served with love,

Dri ♥

bottom of page